Tuesday, July 8, 2008

E-Verify Required In Georgia

Effective July 1st, under the Georgia Security and Immigration Compliance Act, public employers, contractors and subcontractors with 100 or more employees (but less than 500) were required to use the e-verify system, an online system operated jointly by the Department of Homeland Security and the Social Security Administration (SSA). Participating employers can check the work status of new hires online by comparing information from an employee's I-9 form against SSA and Department of Homeland Security databases. More than 69,000 employers are enrolled in the program, with over 4 million queries run so far in fiscal year 2008.

In addition, public employers in Arkansas, Colorado, Mississippi, and Oklahoma are required to use E-Verify. Rhode Island mandates its use for public employers and state agencies. Two states-Missouri and Tennessee-encourage its use. In Indiana, Minnesota, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, and Utah, state agencies must use the system, and in California, Colorado, Florida, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, and West Virginia E-Verify legislation is pending.

To register for E-Verify, go here.

1 comment:

Naresh said...

Memorial University Medical center is e-verified or not?